Wednesday, September 30, 2009

The Sea of Japan

The Sea of Japan is a marginal see of the western Pacific Ocean, bordered by Japan, South Korea, North Korea and Russia. It is referred to in North Korea as the Korea East Sea and in South Korea as the East Sea. Like the Mediterranean Sea, it has almost no tides due to its nearly complete enclosure.

The areas in the north and the southeast are rich fishing ground and sea has three major basins. The Yamato Basin in the southeast, the Japan Basin in the north and the Tsushima Basin (Ulleung Basin) in the southwest. The Japan Basin has the deepest areas of the, while the Tsushima Basin has the shallowest.
Reference –

No comments: